The area's leading online source for news!
Louisa-Lawrence Co, KY

In God We Trust - Established 2008





County Clerk

Susie Skyles (R) incumbent


Charles Moore (R)

John Kirk (R)

Tom Setser (R)

Millard Harmon (R)

Cody Lowe (R)

Gregory Speers (D)

Eddie Joe Horn (R)


County Judge

William Bill Bo Davis (R)

Michael Jude (R)

James Mineer (R)

Gary Michael Hunt (R) 

Grover Meade (R)

Andy Jude (R)

Robin Harmon Newsome (D) 

Gretta Ward (D)

Carol Sue Mills (R)



Buddy Stacy (R)

Boonie Mahon (D)

Jason 'Booger" Jude (R)

Ivy Jude (R)

Sabert Jude (D)


Circuit Clerk

Steve Goble (R) (Incumbent)

Denise M. Gauze (R)



Bobby Hale (R)


County Attorney

Melissa Fannin Phelps


County Surveyor



Daniel Williamson (R)

Josua Hunt (R)

Chris Todd (R)

Kelly Callaham (D)


Magistrate Dist 1

Jared Goforth (R)

Arlen Mollette (R)

Josh Muncy (D)

James Preston (R)

Delsie Fletcher (R)


Magistrate Dist 2

Kenney McCoy, Jr. (R)

Eddie J. Stepp (R)

Kermit Howell (R)

Bruce Young (R)

Michael Anthony Begley (R)

Albert Butcher (R)

Roger Preece (R)


Magistrate Dist 3

Roy Matthew Kirk (R)

Gordon S. Maynard (R)

Matthew Marcum (R)

Tracy Spence (R)

Thomas Fannin (R)

Gina Patrick (D)

Derrick Stepp (R) 

James Ray Fields (R)

Judy Maynard (R)

Orville Spence (R)


Magistrate Dist 4

Milton Ford Jude (R)

Paul David Evans (R)

Junior Hunt (R)

Keith Harmon (R)

John Dye (R)

Wilmon Moore (R)

Gary Webb (R)

Dustin Hale (R)

BJ Slone (R)

Barbara Maynard (D)


Magistrate Dist 5 Warfield-Himlerville

Victor Slone (R)

Harold D. Slone (R)

Ray Carter (R) 

Mitchell Crum (D)

 Myrtle Sartin (R)

Constable Dist 1

Elmer "Pickle" Mills (R) 12-7-17

Bobby Gene Maynard (R)

Constable Dist 2

Walter Jackson (R) 11-09-17

Anthony J. "Tony" Preece (R) 1/22/18

Brandon Collins (R)

Constable Dist 3

Margaret Sprague (R)

Hubert Spence (R) 

Constable Dist 4

James Bradford Preece (R)

Constable Dist 5

Granville Sweeney (R)

Steve Copley (R)


November 2, 2017

MOREHEAD, Ky.---The infamous Pirates of Penzance will sail into Morehead for four performances in Duncan Recital Hall in the Baird Music Hall on the Morehead State University campus, Nov. 8 through 11 at 7:30 p.m. each night.

MSU Opera presents Pirates of Penzance copyMSU Opera presents Pirates of Penzance copy

Morehead State University Opera, directed and conducted by Dr. Roma Prindle, associate professor of music, will present the zany British comedy by Gilbert and Sullivan.

All tickets are $5, cash or check only, with all MSU students admitted free on Wednesday evening only.

Theatre goers will be familiar with many of the tunes in The Pirates of Penzance, including “Poor wand’ring one” and “I am the very model of a modern Major-General.” Gilbert and Sullivan were the Saturday Night Live of their day. Known for their irreverent pokes at contemporary political figures and situations, their satire is still relevant. Modern audiences will, no doubt, recognize modern day parallels in the characters and their actions in scenes reminiscent of Monty Python sketches.

The show features 22 MSU students with many of the lead roles double cast. The orchestra for the production is comprised of some of MSU’s finest student musicians. MSU Opera also received a generous grant from the MSU Arts and Humanities Council and the Buckner and Sally S. Hinkle Endowment for Humanities to complement the orchestra with string players for the production.

The cast and crew includes:

Elise Arnold, Florence, Oregon, graduate student, as Ruth;
Amber Beck, Dover, Delaware, graduate student, as Edith;
Broderick Beighle, Williamstown senior, as Pirate King;
Kristan Birchfield, Inez sophomore, as Edith;
Ryan Blevins, Chilhowie, Virginia, graduate student, as Frederic;
Janessa Broadhurst, Louisville sophomore, as Mabel;
Noah Bruce, Louisville freshman, Ensemble;
Alexander Castle, Westwood sophomore, as Major-General Stanley;
Noah Colley, Portsmouth, Ohio, senior, as Pirate King;
Eliza Eaches, Wheelersburg, Ohio, junior, as Ruth;
Matt Hammond, Louisa senior, as Frederic;
Ruby Harr, Louisville freshman, Ensemble;
Ben Hayes, Louisa sophomore, Ensemble;
Michael Jarman, Lexington, as Sergeant of Police;
Miranda Justice, Pikeville senior, Ensemble;
Summer Lighthall, Burlington; as Mabel;
Brian Moscoe, Lexington; Ensemble;
Kaitlyn Osborn, Louisa senior, as Kate;
Bugs Reinhardt, Minford, Ohio; junior, as Samuel;
Jasmine Wheeler, Morehead senior, as Kate;
Sarah White, West Union, Ohio, sophomore, as Isabel;
Nick Wolford, Jackson, Ohio, senior, as Major-General Stanley
William Murphy, staff accompanist, rehearsal pianist;
Leslie Robinson, Louisa sophomore; stage manager;
Eli Weis, Louisville senior; lighting;
and Roma Prindle, director and conductor.

Additional information is available by calling Prindle at 606-783-2481.

November 1, 2017

Louisa East Craft and Vendor Fair