The area's leading online source for news!
Louisa-Lawrence Co, KY

In God We Trust - Established 2008


March 5, 2018

PAINTSVILLE, Ky. – Big Sandy Community and Technical College (BSCTC) played host to the 2018 SkillsUSA Competition recently on their Mayo and Hager Hill Campuses.

SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry representatives working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student to excel. SkillsUSA was formerly known as VICA (the Vocational Industrial Clubs of America).

Over 175 students from around the area competed in technical education, skilled and service occupation categories for a chance to advance to the state level competition.

Mike Jude, SKillsUSA Regional Director, said that this is the most students he has seen compete during his 20 years with SkillsUSA.

BSCTC hosted 25 on site competitions, 24 held on the Mayo campus and 1 held on the Hager Hill campus. Over 142 students took home gold, silver and bronze metals and will compete in the state competition in Louisville in April.

Mike Jude poses with a group of the 2018 winners at the Regional SkillsUSA Competition. These students and many others will go on to compete in the State competition in Louisville in April.Mike Jude poses with a group of the 2018 winners at the Regional SkillsUSA Competition. These students and many others will go on to compete in the State competition in Louisville in April.

Skills USA 2018 Winners


30 Second Elevator Story

Trey Lafferty. 3rd place. Martin Co.
Frazier Pack 2nd place. JCHS
Daniel Short 1st place. JCHS

Chapter Display

Tiffany Caldwell, Andrew Caudill, Tyler Hall. 1st place. JCHS


Trey Lafferty. 1st place. Martin Co.

Community Service Project.

Alex McGinnis, Deklan Osborne, Charlie Fletcher. 1st Place. Martin Co.

Automotive Tool ID

Terry Dalton. 1st place. Martin Co.

Constructive Tool ID

Charlie Fletcher. 3rd place. Martin Co
Nathan Todd. 2nd place. Martin Co.
Ethan Porter. 1st place. Magoffin

3D Printing

Chayce Meade. 1st place. JCHS

Extemporaneous Speaking

Elijah Conley. 1st Place. JCHS
Aleah Montgomery. 2nd Place. Magoffin

First Aid/ CPR

McKenzie Wireman. 1st Place. Floyd
Olivia Connelley. 2nd Place. Magoffin
Destiny Wright. 3rd Place. Floyd

Job Demo A

Jada Howell 1st place, Martin County
Cameron McCormick 2nd place, Martin County
Gary Hunt 3rd place. Martin County

Job Demo O

Samuel Darnell. 1st place. Magoffin

Job Interview

Kelly Smith. 1st place. Magoffin

Cameron McCormick. 2nd place. Martin Co.
Ben Cole. 3rd place. Magoffin

Photography/ Photo Display

Austin Borders, 1st place. Martin Co.


Rebecca Pugh. 1st place. JCHS


Tiffany Reed, Martin Co.

Prepared Speaking

Savannah Whitaker. 1st place. Magoffin

Promotional Bulletin Board

Jacob Blair, Brent Burke, Ethan Mills, 1st Place - Martin Co
Alice Cecil, Charlie Fletcher, Tiffany Reed. 2nd Place - Martin Co.

Quiz Bowl

James Dials, Gary Cantrell, John Fairchild, Jolene Fairchild, & Assoad Manna, 1st Place. JCHS

Cierra Connelley, Margaret Gipson, Sawnada Howard, Hannah Marsillett, & Gabriella Reed, 2nd Place - Magoffin

Related Technical Math

Jamison Stanley. 1st place. Floyd
Austin Smith, 2nd place. Floyd

Welding Art Sculpture

Billy trusty. 1st place. Magoffin

Wood Art Sculpture

Alexander McGinnis. 1st place. Martin Co

Career Pathway Showcase

Leah Bailey, Jacklyn Breann Combs, & Brittney Roark. 1st place. Magoffin

Architectural Drafting

Nada Sofyan, 1st place. JCHS
Christopher Judd. 2nd place. JCHS.

Automotive 1

Rusty Young. 1st place. Millard
Jared Wright. 2nd place. Martin Co
Ryan Smith. 3rd place. Millard

Automotive 2

Cameron Tackett. 1st place. Millard
Ethan Whitt. 2nd place. Martin Co
Earl Bowen. 3rd place. Marti Co

Broadcast News Production

Jacob Burns, Terry Caudill, Kelby Price, & Daniel Short. 1st place JCHS

Carpentry 1

Aaron Smith. 1st place. Belfry
Alice Cecil 2nd place. Martin Co

Carpentry II

Jared White. 1st place. Belfry
Deklan Osborne. 2nd place. Martin Co
Jason Maynard. 3rd place. Martin Co

Crime Scene

Team 2 & 1st place: Austin Howard, Ryan Leonhart & Christopher Howes. Magoffin

Team 1 & 2nd place: Brooklynn P Conley Grace Lemaster, Laiklynn Owens. Magoffin

Team 3 & 3rd place: James Gasparac, Emily Kilgore, Erica Russell. Magoffin .

Traffic Stops

Kenton Risner 1st Place: Magoffin County
Sedley Helton, 2nd Place Magoffin

Computer Programming

Thomas Nelson: 1st Place JCHS


Toby Justice 1st Place - Belfry
Bobby Luster 2nd Place - Belfry
Mikey Sesco 3rd Place – Belfry

Digital Cinema Production 2 Teams

Ally Crum 1st Place – JCHS
Kaitlyn Hennon 1st Place – JCHS

Peyton Duncan 2nd Place – JCHS
Kaitlin Wells 2nd Place – JCHS

Electrical Construction Wiring

Skyler Endicott 1st Place – Magoffin
Austin Collins – 2nd Place – Millard
Sonny Gilkey – 3rd Place – Martin

Engineering Technical Design

Bryce Ryce, Jonathan Salvito, Donovan Ward, 1st Place – JCHS

Jacob Bowling, Brady Hitchcock, Johnathan Holbrook, 2nd place – JCHS


Caleb Robinette, 1st Place – Floyd
Bradley Pinion, 2nd Place – Floyd
Braxton Mullins, 3rd Place – Millard

Industrial Motor Controls

Taylor Stacy, 1st Place – Belfry

Information Technology Services

Trevor Blackburn, 1st Place – Martin
Scott McKayla, 2nd Place – Martin
Kyle Paxton, 3rd Place – Martin

Interactive Application & Video Design

David Francis, Brandon Sharp, 1st Place – Magoffin

Mobile Robotics

Caleb Hitchcock, Tanner Rice, 1st Place – JCHS
Phillip Sperger, Michealla Vanhoose, 2nd Place – JCHS


Lindsey Milleson, 1st Place – Martin County
Jacob Hale, 2nd Place – Martin County

Pin Design

Kayla Scott, 1st Place – Martin County

Precision Machining Technology

Eli Salmons, 1st Place – Belfry
Keaton Thacker, 2nd Place – Belfry
Dalton Naranjo, 3rd Place – Belfry

Principles of Engineering Design
Drew Stumbo, 1st Place – JCHS

Technical Computer Application
Matthew Kirk, 1st Place – Martin County

Technical Drafting CAD
Chrystalen Stambaugh, 1st Place, JCHS

Television (Video) Production
Grace Castle, Abigail Roberts, 1st Place – JCHS
John Daniel, Tyler Trimble, 2nd Place – JCHS

Urban Search and Rescue Robotics
Marcus Ratliff, Arron McFaddin, 1st Place – JCHS
Corey McKinney, Christopher Vincent, 2nd Place – JCHS
Dalton Castle, Jacob Spriggs, 3rd Place, JCHS

Webpage Development and Design
Scotty Horn, Jada Howell, 1st Place – Martin County
Kinsey Hall, Tanner Gibson, 2nd Place – Floyd County
Austin Ford, 3rd Place – Floyd County

Welding 1
Lucas Justice, 1st Place – Belfry
Brian Patton, 2nd Place – Floyd
Nicholas Roark, 3rd Place – Magoffin

Welding 2
Aaron Dailey, 1st Place – Belfry
Johnny Wolford, 2nd Place – Belfry
Michael Newsome, 3rd Place – Millard


Add comment

Security code