The area's leading online source for news!
Louisa-Lawrence Co, KY

In God We Trust - Established 2008



April 13, 2018

Gov. Bevin Receives Notification of
Presidential Disaster Declaration for 22 E. Kentucky Counties Impacted by Flooding in February; No word on latest application 

Johnson, Martin and Magoffin among counties included in 22 counties

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 12, 2018) – Governor Matt Bevin today received notification that President Donald Trump has authorized assistance for certain Kentucky counties that suffered significant damage as a result of the severe flooding event from Feb. 9 through Feb. 14.

“We are grateful for this official declaration by the President, which will allow Eastern Kentucky counties to access federal assistance to repair local infrastructure damaged by heavy rainfall this winter,” said Gov. Bevin. “Thanks to the collaborative efforts of local officials, Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), our affected communities are beginning the road to recovery.”

Lawrence County Judge/Exec. John Osborne could not be reached over the weekend for comment on the declaration.

The President's action grants public assistance to the 22 impacted counties to repair roads, bridges and other infrastructure. The declaration will also provide the Commonwealth with mitigation funds.

Counties included in this declaration include Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin,  Martin, Metcalfe, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Whitley and Wolfe.

The severe weather system in mid-February produced strong winds and episodes of torrential rain which caused flooding, flash flooding, landslides and mudslides. Some impacted counties lost roadways, bridges and associated structures.

“Bringing federal assistance to Kentucky has been a team effort between our local, state and federal partners,” said KYEM director Michael Dossett. “I am truly grateful that we can now begin the important process of moving recovery assistance into the declared areas.”

Additional information about KYEM and FEMA’s Public Assistance program can be found at

April 11, 2018

Earlier story:

Lawrence, Carter and Boyd included in disaster plea from Bevin to Trump

FRANKFORT – Gov. Matt Bevin Tuesday sent a letter to President Donald Trump requesting a presidential disaster declaration for 35 Kentucky counties that were impacted during a severe weather event beginning on Feb. 21. The weather pattern produced torrential rain that resulted in flooding, landslides and mudslides, along with intense thunderstorms that led to flash flooding and tornadoes.

Millions of dollars will have to be pent to replace and repair roads damaged all over the 35 county area.Millions of dollars will have to be pent to replace and repair roads damaged all over the 35 county area.


The weather system caused over $24.7 million in damages statewide, with 75 percent of that total related to highways, bridges and local infrastructure. Four Kentuckians lost their lives during this event, along with many minor injuries, according to a state news release.

“This requested Presidential Disaster Declaration will provide more than one-quarter of Kentucky’s counties with federal assistance as they recover from widespread severe storms and flooding in recent weeks,” Bevin said in the news release. “The Commonwealth has already experienced a challenging 2018 weather-wise, with these events coming on the heels of severe flooding across Eastern Kentucky in February. It has been inspiring to see Kentuckians come together to help their neighbors, and our hope is that this Declaration request will yield much-needed assistance for community residents and local governments across the state.”

The following counties are included in this request: Boyd, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Jefferson, Kenton, Lawrence, Livingston, McCracken, McLean, Metcalfe, Ohio, Owen, Spencer, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Washington, and Webster.

“Unfortunately, the Commonwealth has been on the receiving end of two back-to-back major flooding events, only days apart,” Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) director Michael Dossett said. “We are hopeful for federal assistance, first for our citizens who suffered flooding damage or displacement from their homes and second for our counties as they continue repairing damages to bridge and roadway infrastructures.”

Since 2009, Kentucky has been granted 19 federally declared disasters as a result of severe weather and flooding events.

The Commonwealth is currently awaiting a Federal Emergency Management Agency decision on a previous Disaster Declaration request for 22 Eastern Kentucky counties that were impacted during a severe flooding event in mid-February. See that story HERE


Add comment

Security code